Sell-out Clova a great success

Roger van Gompel in action at Clova.
Roger van Gompel in action at Clova.

Roger van Gompel made it two wins in a row at Saturday’s sell-out Glen Clova Half Marathon.

The Dundee Hawkhill veteran made the most of the ideal running conditions to lead home the 270 strong field in a time of 76 minutes and nine seconds, comfortably ahead Corstorphine AC’s Jonathan Carpenter who finished in 76.55.

Hamish Roper of Dundee Road Runners took the last podium place in a time of 77.05. In the ladies’ race Gillian Sangster of Dundee Road Runners continued her run of good form to take first place in a time 85.45, ahead of Kinross Road Runner Jillian Gordon (86.31) and Fiona Cameron of Harmeny AC (89.30).

The first male veteran over 40 prize went to fifth placed Andy Laycock of Kinross RR (79.13), while first supervet was Harmeny’s Peter Kadobinskyj, who finished in 84.45.

The male V60 prize went to Robert Atherton in 99.15 with Harmeny’s Hugh Chalmers the first over 70, clocking a time of 110.25. Kirsti Sharratt of Fife AC took the women’s V40 prize in 91.24 with Morag Taggart of Dundee RR finishing first FV50 in 98.37 and Anne Wilson of Kinross RR taking the over 60 category in a time 114.59.

There was also double success for the host club with Forfar Road Runners taking both first local prizes, with Keith Headridge finishing in 94.51 and club mate Karen Campbell in 103.18. Second local men’s finisher was Rory Fairbairn in 96.36, ahead of Ralph Brand (U/A) 99.02, with Rachel Young (104.05) and Forfar RR Elizabeth Montgomery-Fox (110.20) taking second and third in the ladies’ competition. Winners of the men’s team prize were Dundee Hawkhill, ahead of Dundee RR and Harmeny AC, while Dundee RR held off Fife AC and Kinross RR to win the ladies’ competition.

Local finishers: 57. Keith Headridge (Forfar RR) 94.51; 66. Rory Fairburn 96.36; 84. Ralph Brand 99.02; 101. Colin Herron 101.03; 103. Alan Macaulay 101.15; 109. Nari Hena (Forfar RR) 101.35; 113. Roy Campbell (Forfar RR) 102.35; 115. Robert Brown 103.01; 116. Guy Sinclair (Forfar RR) 103.15; 117. Karen Campbell (Forfar RR) 103.18; 123. Rachel Young 104.05; 134. John Baxter 106.00; 137. Paul Macari 106.27; 155. Derek Miller 108.37; 161. Hugh Mackenzie (Forfar RR) 109.31; 165. Elizabeth Montgomery-Fox (Forfar RR) 110.20; 175. Scott Macpherson (Forfar RR) 111.57; 188. Yvonne Collins 114.26; 191. Naomi Newton 114.54; 210. More next week.