Swim gala trophy winners

Forfar Amateur Swimming Club (FASC) held its annual club gala and technical swim just before Christmas.

The Centennial Shield, for achievements over the course of the last year was won by Beth Milne. Other main prize winners were Nicholas Fletcher who won Sangster Trophy for the most improved swimmer in the teaching sessions and Holly Richardson who won the Special Achievement Award for the effort she inputs in to the coaching sessions.

For the seven and unders Jack Laird was the recipient of the British Legion Cup for his 25-yard swim. For the eight and under girls Hannah Murray won the Round Table Quaich for backstroke and the Blair Cup for freestyle. Nicholas Fletcher won the boys race for backstroke and Ethan Brown for freestyle. Morven Whyte won the girls breaststroke and the Dorothy Roberts trophy, Sam Johnston won the boys race.

Swimmers are permitted to enter two strokes in the 50/100 yard races.

For the 9/10 age group Molly Sinclair claimed the round Table Quaich and Cooper trophy for her breaststroke and freestyle swims. Rohan Brown won the Slinger Trophy and Ritchie Cup for his backstroke and freestyle. Chloe Reilly bagged the backstroke and Calum Kelman the breaststroke.

The Ramsay Ladder trophy for butterfly was won by Mac Whyte and Becky Laird.

In the 11/12 age group Erin brown won the Coronation Rosebowl for her backstroke swim and the ABP Cup for her butterfly.

Jack Green won his butterfly race and the Ramsay Ladder Trophy for his freestyle. Kirsty Richardson finished first in the freestyle, and won the Round Table Cup for the breaststroke. The May Trophy for the 50 yard breaststroke was won by Matthew McSheffrey, and the Glamis Trophy for the breaststroke was won by Luke Millar.

In the 13/14 age group Katie Phillips won the 100 yards backstroke (Tesco Cup) and the Strathmore Cup for the 100 yards butterfly. Ellie McCallum and Calum Sinclair won the Round table Quaich for their breaststroke. Calum also won the Anderson Cup for the freestyle. The girls’ race and Shepherd Cup was won by Beth Milne.

For the over 15 year olds, the FASC Cups for backstroke and freestyle were won by Lois McBean and Ryan Nicoll. Rosie Fletcher won the Allardice Cup for the girls breaststroke.

Callum Brown won the equivalent Ferguson Trophy for the boys.

Sarah Niblock won the Chalice Cup and Gary Nisbet won the Neish trophy for the butterfly race.

Swimmers are also permitted to enter one open 200 yard swim. Beth Milne and Glen Milne won the McLaren Cup for the backstroke, Ellie McCallum and Callum Brown won the Round Table Quaich for the breaststroke, and the Captaincy Cup for the freestyle was won by Katie Phillips and John McKay.

For the Technical Swim, swimmers are awarded points for each stroke based on how technically correct the swim is. Jade Doig and Rohan brown won the nine and under competition, Chloe Reilly and Calum Kelman the 10/11, Erin brown the 12/13, and Anna Brodie and Glen Milne the 14 and over age group. As overall winners, Erin Brown won the Elder Cup and Glen Milne won the Don Cup.

Helpers are always required to make sure the club runs smoothly.

If you are interested in any aspects of the club’s activities, please contact Ian Cochrane, club president on 01307 461318, and/or check out the club website, www.forfarfalcons.com