Road runners enjoy great day at Stirling event

There was a strong display from Forfar runners and triathletes at the Stirling Triathlon on Sunday, June 1.

In the Sprint distance, local triathlete Bruce Simpson – representing M3 – was first of the Forfar crew across the finish in a superb time of 1.19.32.

The next three home all crossed the line within a few seconds of each other – Brian Keay, after a superb swim (13.42) and overall time of 1.24.26, Hugh Mackenzie had a strong run to finish in 1.24.30, just ahead of local triathlete Lindsay Bedford 1.24.36.

Ian Cochrane was next up, finishing in 1.25.31 followed by Karen Fletcher in 1.39.22, and a disappointed Angie Mackenzie in 1.38.10 after some technical problems on the bike.

Ryan Nicoll, competing in his first triathlon, had a close run-in with a car on the cycle section, which resulted in a buckled back wheel and an early retiral from the race.

In the Novice distance event, Lesley Cromer did very well on her debut to finish in 1.14.26. while her son Euan completed the junior race in 1.14.26.

Alan Welsh made it two wins out of two at the Forfar Road Runners six-mile handicap series last Wednesday, finishing the June race in a time of 36 minutes and 46 seconds.

Lynn Henderson finished in 2nd place overall to win the women’s race in a time of 37.10, just over a minute clear of Tracy Morgan who finished 3rd overall and 2nd lady in 38.11.

Other finishers were as follows: 4. Brian Niblock 41.51; 5. Karen Campbell 45.35; 6. Guy Sinclair 45.48; 7. Billy Douglas 46.02; 8. Hugh Mackenzie 46.44; 9. Angie Mackenzie 50.40; 10. David Webster 52.57; 11. Suzanne Cantwell 52.27.

Single lap: Lyn Johnston and Liz McInally 35.27.

On Friday, June 6, 10 Forfar Road Runners took part in the Templeton Trail Race in Templeton woods, Dundee, the next counter in the club’s Off-Road Championship.

First back for the club was Craig Stewart, who finished the six-mile race in 11th place overall in a time of 37 minutes and 36 seconds, just ahead of Alan Welsh in 14th place and a time of 37.45.

Next back for the club, and third lady on the night, was Lynn Henderson in 38.04, followed by Brian Niblock 42.19 and local runner Dale Pass 42.37.

Other times were as follows: Ron Milne 43.46; Roy Campbell 44.26; Donna Pass 46.07; Karen Campbell 47.05; Liz McInally 48.34; Michelle Nicoll 53.28.

The race was won by Jamie Crowe of Central AC in 34.03 ahead of Dundee Hawk Billy Gibson (35.33), while the women’s race was won by Fife AC’s Sophie Mullins in 37.25, with club mate Amie McKimmie taking second in 37.58.