Major award-winners at annual Kirrie gala

editorial image

THE annual Kirriemuir & District Amateur Swimming Club gala was held at Webster’s Sports Centre.

Having worked hard all year improving their technique in training, the club swimmers are given a great opportunity to test themselves and gain experience of competition.

In a highly entertaining session of swimming there was a great display of swimming skills with many close races. Indeed, the first race was won by the closest of margins, only one hundredth of a second!

The club was very grateful for all trophy sponsors, but a special mention must be made for the main sponsor.

Once again solicitors MacLean and Lowson generously supported the event and have done so since the very first gala in 1996.

There were a total of 82 competitive swims, with 43 swimmers battling it out for 26 trophies.

The winners were as follows:-

Eight and under age group: 20m backstroke - Rachel McGregor; 20m front crawl - Morven Whyte; 20m Breaststroke - Morven Whyte.

10 and under age group: 40m front crawl - Rohan Brown; 40m breaststroke - Matthew McSheffrey; 40m backstroke - Rohan Brown; 20m butterfly - Becky Wilmshurst.

12 and under age group – 60m breaststroke - Kirsty Richardson; 60m backstroke - Erin Brown; 40m butterfly - Lucy Richardson; 60m front crawl - Erin Brown.

14 and under age group: 80m front crawl - Louise Patullo; 80m breaststroke - Kirsty Richardson; 80m backstroke - Lucy Richardson.

18 and under age group: 80m front crawl - Daniel Brodie; 80m breaststroke - Hannah Farquhar; 80m backstroke - Murray Caird; 80m butterfly - Daniel Brodie.

13 and under: 80m individual Mmdley - Lucy Richardson; Open – 80m individual medley - Murray Caird; Open – second session sprint - Rohan Brown; Open – first session Ssrint - Daniel Brodie.

Girl’s Relay – Hannah Farquhar (team captain), Louise Patullo, Erin Brown, Abby Taylor, Morven Whyte and Jessica Boath

Boy’s Relay – Daniel Brodie (team captain), Niall Sayers, Rohan Brown, Robin Baillie, Dylan McKay, Jack Ford.

Girls Endeavour – Seonaid Durston, Boys Endeavour – Liam Allan and Jack Ford.