Lynn’s winning run continues

Forfar Road Runner Lynn Henderson notched up her second victory in as many weeks at the inaugural running of the Tay Ten in Perth last Sunday.

Following on from her fifth win at the Camperdown Parkrun 5k the previous week, Lynn finished the 10-mile road race in a new personal best time of 66 minutes and 1 second, over a minute clear of second-placed Claire Thompson of Victoria Park AAC. Forfar’s Tracy Morgan, who finished first at last week’s Monikie 5K, took third in a time of 68.08, with clubmate Donna Pass finishing in 79.08. First man home for Forfar Road Runners in 15th place overall and 5th V50 was Alan Welsh in 65.10, followed by Brian Niblock in 71.51 and Nari Hena who finished in 72.57.

On the same day, Forfar’s Karen Campbell completed her first marathon in less than ideal conditions at the Lochaber Marathon. Despite high winds and driving rain Karen finished the 26.2 miles in a creditable 3 hours 57 minutes and 4 seconds. The race was won by Dundee Hawkhill’s Roger Van Gompel in 2 hours 40 minutes and 26 seconds with Donna Finlayson of Victoria Park AAC taking the women’s title in 3 hours 11 minutes and 32 seconds.

At this Saturday’s Clachnaben Hill Race Brian Bonnyman finished in third place in a time of 1 hour 11 minutes and 14 seconds behind Ewan McCarthy (1.10.04) and Scottish international Robbie Simpson, who won the race for the third time in 1.05.31. Forfar’s Nari Hena finished in 37th place in 1.28.55 with Sarah Clark completing the course in 2.13.20.

Karen Fletcher was the club’s sole representative at Sunday’s London Marathon, finishing in 4 hours 44 minutes and 9 seconds.