First trophy complete for Suttieside

Suttieside’s first league, 
The Dispatch Trophy, was completed just before 

After a close competition, which was not decided until the final games, Lynda Kemp and her rink of Ian Taylor, Katherine Sim and Arron Duncan were the winners by one point ahead of Ian Young and his team of Nicki Orr, Lynda Stobbs and Marion Shephard.

The pairs and Russell Cup competitions continue throughout the season and the Bonnyman Shield will start next weekend.

In the pairs games on January 18 two teams were well ahead of their opposition, 
Ian Young and his partner June Braid beating Frank Cooper (subbing for injured Craig Anderson) and Brian Kelly, and Lynda Kemp with Brian Ruffhead beating Jenny McGlynn and Aileen 

In the other two games Nicki Orr and Colin Webster just drew ahead of Lorna Anderson and Helen Bowie at the last end, David Shephard and Marianne Jenkins had a very good fifth end to beat Bob Ogilvy and Flora Dargie.

The last Suttieside game before Christmas was the R. D. Wilson Bonspiel. Four teams battled it out, moving positions and rinks, with the winning team being Frank Cooper, Ian Taylor, Lorna Anderson and Flora Dargie. This is a fun competition which gives all players a chance of being in the head.

Since Christmas there have been two Province League games when Suttieside lost to Kirriemuir and a week later beat Forfar Ladies.

The other inter club competition was a friendly against Angus Glens which was won by Suttieside, Bob Ogilvy’s rink being highest up. This game was played with the usual good spirits and thoroughly enjoyed by all teams.