Dean is pool singles champ for 2011-2012

THE Forfar Pool League singles champion for 2011-2012 is Dean McIntosh of the Victoria B.

He defeated Danny Ward of the Victoria B in the final.

The doubles champs are Richard Paterson and Mark Gray of the Legion, with Deke Wilkie and Paul Yule of Bar Central as runners-up.

The top ranked player in the league for season 2011-2012 was Ryan Diplexcito of Bar Central.

The finals day was staged at the Forfar branch headquarters of the Royal British Legion Scotland on Sunday, May 6, the presentation of awards being made by Pat Holtz (current Scottish champion and number one ranked player).

Pat then played some exhibition matches against the winners and a selection of league players.

This was followed by a cheque presentation of £415 to Pat in aid of his charities (CHAS & Marie Curie) from Forfar Pool League, the money being raised on the day supplemented by a donation of £300 from league funds.

Forfar Pool League committee members would like to thank all the players who took part this past season, also the publicans and venues hosting pool league matches for making the season such a success.

The annual general meeting ahead of the 2012-2013 season will be held in around three weeks time on a date and at a venue to be arranged.

The roll of honour for season 2011-2012 is as follows:-

Singles champion, Dean McIntosh, Victoria B; runner-up, Danny Ward, Victoria B; beaten semi-finalists, Ryan Diplexcito and Deke Wilkie, Bar Central.

Doubles champions, Richard Paterson and Mark Gray, Legion; runners-up, Deke Wilkie and Paul Yule, Bar Central; beaten semi-finalists, Kris Fullerton and Alec Martin, Victoria B and Scott Cruickshank and Ryan Diplexcito, Bar Central.

Three man team champions, Kev Gordon, Dean McIntosh and Kev Brown, Victoria B; runners-up, Bob Inglis, Murray Shields and Don Jowett, Victoria B; beaten semi-finalists, David Buchan, Elayne Buchan and Stewart Reid, Legion and Craig Copland, Gus Johnstone, Victoria A.

Captains’ Cup winner, Kev Youngson, West End Bar B; runner-up, Stuart Fraser, Strathmore; beaten semi-finalists, Deke Wilkie, Bar Central and Andy McBride, Victoria B.

League champions, West End Bar A; runners-up, Bar Central; Top player, Ryan Diplexcito, Bar Central; 2011-2012 most improved player, Paul Tait, West End Bar A.

Sandy Pirie Trophy, Burns Bar; runners-up, Victoria B; George Paul Cup, Victoria B; runners-up, Victoria C; Team Knockout, Bar Central runners-up, Victoria B.