Webster’s High School prize-winners

Webster's High School held its annual prize giving ceremony in the old Parish Church, kirriemuir before the school broke off for the summe break. This year's Dux medallist was Alice Robson (right) with Gemma Robertson the the Proxime Accessit.
Webster's High School held its annual prize giving ceremony in the old Parish Church, kirriemuir before the school broke off for the summe break. This year's Dux medallist was Alice Robson (right) with Gemma Robertson the the Proxime Accessit.

The prize-giving ceremony for Webster’s High School took place in the Old Parish Church, Kirriemuir.

The main award winners were as follows:-

Dux: Alice Robson; Proxime Accessit: Gemma Robertson.

Art & Design - Airlie McIntyre. Biology - Skye Redford. Business management - Nicola Simson. Chemistry - Webster’s Chemistry Prize - Higher - Mitchell Buchan; The Glamis Cup - Advanced Higher -Angus Redford.

Computing science - Beth Ogilvy. Design and manufacture - Cavan Bryce. Drama - Victoria Johnston. Engineering science - Gemma Robertson.

English; Buchanan Fraser Prize - Higher (1st) - Alice Robson; Robert Leslie Prize - Higher (2nd) - Amy Thomson; Excellence in writing - Higher - Skye Redford; Advanced Higher English Prize - Carrie Shepherd.

French - Sean Kemp. Geography Higher - Amy Thomson; Advanced Higher - Calum Boath.

Graphic Communication - Nicholas Melvin. Health & Food Technology - Amber Grunenberg.

History: Angus College Quaich - Higher - Alice Robson. Advanced higher award for most promising dissertation - Glen Barclay. Bill Fairlie excellence in Advanced Higher - Bethan Whamond.

Human biology - Amy Thomson. Mathematics - Higher -Skye Redford; Advanced Higher - Angus Redford. Advanced Higher Applied Mathematics - Angus Redford.

Modern Languages - Morgan Guthrie. Music - Higher - Alice Robson. Higher (2nd) - Bethan Whamond. Rev. Gordon M Ramsay Memorial Prize - Rory Ladyman.

Physical Education - Jade Logan.

Physics - Higher - Gemma Robertson; Advanced Higher - Angus Redford.

Photography Prize - Caitlin Dickson. Psychology - Adam Jackson.

Woodworking - Robbie Wills.

Presentation of prefects and House Captains:

Clova - Robbie Bannerman, George Horsman, Kim Orrock, Skye Redford. House captains - Caitlin Milne and Gemma Robertson.

Isla: Freya Crompton, Hannah Dryden, Lewis Elder, Harry Ellis, Jack Ford, Morgan Guthrie, Athena Hopking, Victoria Johnston, Robyn Laird, Luke Melvin, Nicholas Melvin, Alex Miller, Rosie Robertson. House captains - Jade Logan and Kirsty Randalls.

Moy: Maia Blair, Olivia Gorrell, Chloe Jones, Claire McIldowie, Alice Robson, Nikki Roy, Emily Simpson, Kirsten Stewart, Orla Sutherland. House captains - Mark Dallas, Anna Oliphant, Briar Watt.

Prosen: Lucy Cameron, Niamh Cameron, Rachel Grieve, Roisin Lemanczyk, Lewis McClure, Edie Muir, Beth Ogilvy, Morven Walker, Jack Wilkie. House captains - Erin Brown, Kirstie Cameron, Robyn McLaughlin.

School Captains - Andrew Smith and Georgia Downie; vice captains - Amber Ogg, Amy Thomson and Jack Williams.

S3 gold merit awards - Morven Adams, Clem Anderson, Robbie Barber, Laura Murdie, Leanne Simpson, Abbie Taylor and Brendan Tierney.

Bronze Duke of Edinburgh Awards - Duncan Boath, Pip de Klerk, Ellen Forbes, Georgia Gunn, Rona Hobson, Jade Lamond, Maggie Maxwell, Niamh McSheffrey, Elsa Muir, Christopher Reid, Kirsty Reith, Adele Robertson.

Sports champions: minor girls - Abbie Milne. Minor boys - Ruaraidh Wotherspoon. Junior girls - Reaghan Watt. Junior boys - Rohan Brown. Intermediate girls - Morven Adams. Intermediate boys - Owen Kerrigan. Senior girls - Eilidh de Klerk. Senior boys - Kane Alison. Cross country: S1 junior girls - Abbie Milne. S1 junior boys - Samuel Jackson. S2 intermediate girls - Nell McCoshim. S2 intermediate boys - Rohan Brown. S3 girls individual - Morven Adams. S3 boys individual - Joe Black.

Junior Monza Cup - Joe Black’s team. Monza Cup - ‘The Heavy Squad’ collected by Calum Boath and Stuart McKenna.

Inter-house sport champions, collected by new Clova house captains Caitlin Milne and Gemma Robertson. Ewan Robertson service to school sport trophy - Libby Todd. Teachers v pupils golf - staff - collected by Alan Taylor. District schools golf champion - boys - Joe Black. District schools golf champion - girls - Kirstie Brodie. Robertson medal for best athlete SFL - Emma Low. The Jon H. Little Memorial Cup - Layla Al-Saffar.

The following S5 pupils received merit awards:

Erin Brown, Mitchell Buchan, Kirstie Cameron, Niamh Cameron, Ruth Carnegie, Freya Crompton.

Kyle Dempsey, Georgia Downie, Hannah Dryden, Marshall Gray, Morgan Guthrie, Athena Hopking, Victoria Johnston, Chloe Jones.

Jade Logan, Alex Miller, Edie Muir, Beth Ogilvy, Skye Redford, Gemma Robertson, Alice Robson, Orla Sutherland.

Amy Thomson, Charles Walker-Munro, Briar Watt, Jack Wilkie.

S6 merit awards: Glen Barclay - history and photography. Calum Boath - geography.

Dionne Boyack - art and design. John Brown - chemistry and biology. Bryce Cavan - admin and IT, design and manufacturing. Eilidh de Klerk - biology and maths. Caitlin Dickson - photography. Liam Donaldson - geography and business management. Sean Douglas - physics.

Lily Garget- art and design. Jay Grant - biology and geography. Amber Grunenberg - health and food technology. Alex Guthrie - business management.

Daniel Haig - practical woodworking. Donald Hobson - computing science. Adam Jackson - computing science, design and manufacturing and psychology.

Sean Kemp - French. Rory Ladyman - chemistry, computing science and music. Katy Ling - music. Airlie McIntyre - art and design.

Clarie McNicol - psychology. Callum Norman - photography.

Lachlan Peters - maths.

Robyn Pinder - business management.

Angus Redford - chemistry, maths and physics.

Logan Robertson - biology, French and drama.

A number of pupils from Webster’s High School in Kirriemuir received Wider Achievement Awards at the end of term prize-giving ceremony.

They were presented as follows:-

Rattray Memorial Trophy for Service - Glen Barclay.

Brodie Rosebowl for Service to the SFL department - Luke Melvin.

The Ronnie Proctor Junior Award for Citizenship - Emily Lindley.

The Ronnie Proctor Senior Award for Citizenship - Kira Davies.

Marie Giddings Memorial Prize - Lois Scott.

Parent Council Award for Service to School and Community - Glen Barclay.

Junior Debating Cup - Brendan Tierney.

Senior Debating Cup - Beth Watson.

The Convener’s Shield for Outstanding Contributions to Pupil Council - Amy Thomson.

The Dundee and Angus College Prize for Learning Achievements - Fraser McIntosh.

Fred Matthews Junior Brass Trophy - Molly Crompton and Victoria Scott.

Creative Writing Trophy, donated by Anne Weatherhead - Sean Kemp.

The ceremony concluded with a vote of thanks proposed by Laura Cuthill and Sean Kemp.