Countdown to the elections

THE countdown to the Angus Council elections is well underway – with 50 candidates contesting the 29 seats up for grabs in eight wards.

Locally, the focus of attention will be on the Forfar and District and Kirriemuir & Dean, although our circulation are does cover part of the Arbroath West & Letham ward.

The councillors standing in each of these three wards are as follows:-

Ward 1 - Kirriemuir & Dean - Alison Andrews, Scottish Liberal Democrats; Iain Gaul; Scottish National Party (SNP); Jeanette Gaul (Scottish National Party (SNP); Ronnie Proctor, Scottish Unionist & Conservative.

Ward 3 – Forfar & District - Charlie Brown, Independent; Colin Brown, Independent; Lynne Devine, Scottish National Party (SNP); Ian McLaren, Independent; Glennis Middleton, Scottish National Party (SNP); John Rymer, Scottish Conservative and Unionist; Avril Simpson, Scottish Liberal Democrats.

Ward 6 – Arbroath West & Letham - Kevin Barthorpe, Scottish Liberal Democrats; David Fairweather, Independent; Alex King, Scottish National Party (SNP); David Lumgair, Scottish Conservative and Unionist; Alec Mollison, Scottish Labour Party; Peter Nield, Independent; Ewan Smith, Scottish National Party (SNP); Ian Watson, Independent.

With the candidates in these three wards stepping up their bid for election, we will be giving them a one-off opportunity to address the electorate through the Forfar Dispatch and Kirriemuir Herald in the issue on Thursday, April 26.

Candidates wishing to take up this opportunity are asked to submit a statement of not more than 200 words together with a head and shoulders pic of themselves by 12 noon on Friday, April 20.

Statements and photographs can be handed in to our office at 13 Swan Street, Brechin, or e-mailed to