National trust benefits from £18,000 in donations from Angus centre

Members' centre committee members are pictured at their AGM.
Members' centre committee members are pictured at their AGM.

The National Trust for Scotland’s Angus Members’ Centre elected a new committee at it recent annual general meeting.

Outgoing chairwoman Jennifer Duncan gave a full report on the year and reflected on the successful fund-raising and social events. She was warmly thanked for her leadership and commitment to AMC and presented with a planter made up by the gardeners’ group which runs very successful plant sales at the House of Dun. Other committee members who retired this year were Yvonne Chittick and Marion Erskine.

Charles Alexander was elected as the next chairman and Isabel Smith was elected as vice-chairman. Other new committee members are Ian Duncan, Linda Robbie and Sheila Bradley.

Two members of the committee, Margot Lacey and Evelyn Mitchell, were awarded long service certificates; both have been on the committee for five years and recently have focused on school liaison work.

John McKenna, property manager for Angus, gave a full update on the local NTS properties and plans for next year. Steve Callaghan, assistant director north, spoke about new developments and challenges at properties in the north and the welcome news that a ranger has recently been appointed who would be based at the House of Dun.

He also showed images of the destruction caused by the tail of Hurricane Bertha on the Marr Estate but added the good news that this property will receive extra publicity though filming of Winter Watch again this year.

One of the committee’s main functions is to raise and donate funds to NTS properties and projects and over the past year has donated just over £18,000 to projects including Barry Mill, House of Dun, Inverewe tree surgery, the North East Ranger Service and two donations have been given to Gladstone Land in Edinburgh and to the Iona and Mull Ranger Service

Anyone interested in the centre should contact the membership secretary at or telephone 01674 676783.