Kirrie swim event a top bill yet again

The Kirriemuir Splash Relay swim again lived up to its billing as one of the county’s major and most exciting fund-raisers.

Old and bold, primary schools and club swimmers raised record funds in a frenzy of excitement, volubly supported by hundreds of spectating friends and family.

Well-deserved prizes were presented by Megan Guild, daughter of Robin Guild of the main sponsors for 2011 - Guild Homes (Tayside) Limited.

Megan and ten of her senior Webster’s High School colleagues served as lane stewards during the swim.

Already over £8000 of this year’s target is in the organisers hands.

A Splash spokesman enthused over the community’s growing support for the 22-year event, and especially the generosity of 37 local commercial sponsors - garages, shops, Tayside firms and Kirriemuir Rotary Club.

The sheer excitement of competing children, community and club teams during the afternoon had to be seen to be believed!

Members of the Splash committee once again thank all who gave their valuable time - and money - to Splash 2011.

“We can promise that every penny raised will be sent urgently to deserving charities in Scotland and overseas,” explains a spokesperson.

The main trophy winners were as follows:-

Junior Shield Schools (primary schools) - Dipsy Ducks (Southmuir) - 66 lengths (Caitlyn McFarlane, Jordyn Bisset, Jessica McGregor, Rachel McGregor, Niamh Henderson, Morven Whyte, Leah Hill and Rohan Brown).

Community Junior Shield (12 and under) - Stoney (Stonehaven Swimming Club) - 110 lengths (Naomi McGillvray, Finlay Grant, Beth Reid, Erin Davidson, Jamie Chree, Ailsa Beck and Poppaea Watt).

Intermediate Shield (18 and under) - Forfar’s Finest (Forfar Falcons Swimming Club) - 128 lengths (Ryan Nicoll, Glen Milne, Ellie McCallum, Beth Milne, Katie Phillips, Nicki Wilmshurst, Zoe Wilmshurst and Anna Brodie).

Community Quaich (community teams) - Anthony’s Aquatics (St Anthony’s Church) - 72 lengths (Diane Thomson, Euan McGeechan, Nula McGeechan, Niamh McGeechan, Rachel Thomson, Kathryn Thomson and Anthony Smith).

Splash Trophy (open) - Angus Masters - 130 lengths (Alastair Caird, Andy Reid, Gary Nisbet, Vicky Taylor, Bruce Fleming, Graeme Gowans, John McKayand Raphael Zeller).

Since 1990 Splash has raised almost £150,000.

The event, admirably compered by John Neeson, is organised annually by Kirriemuir St Andrew’s, St Anthony’s, St Mary’s and Glens and Old Parish Churches.

After the prize-giving ceremony, Megan Guild also announced that Guild Homes will again be the main sponsor for the 2012 swim.