Forfar band in line for top Scottish music award...

Nicky Johnston, Dan Hedge, Danny Sturrock and Adam Valentine of White Baer.
Nicky Johnston, Dan Hedge, Danny Sturrock and Adam Valentine of White Baer.

The hard work and talent of Forfar band White Baer have been recognised with a nomination for a top Scottish music award.

The four-piece band - Nicky Johnston, Dan Hedge, Danny Sturrock and Adam Valentine - was formed only a year ago.

Two weeks ago we reported on the launch of their second EP ‘The Promise of a Life of Violence’ - and we can now reveal they have been nominated in the Best Newcomer category in the Scottish Alternative Music Awards 2015.

The winner is decided by an online vote and will be announced on Thursday, October 8 at The Garage in Glasgow.

Band spokesman Danny Sturrock, who works with Angus County Press, said: “We’re honoured and humbled to be nominated for a SAMA, especially in such a rich and bountiful category.

“This time last year we hadn’t played a single gig and to now be recognised as one of the best new group of artists in the country is pretty breathtaking.

“We’d love it if everyone could vote for us. It would really take the pressure off our mothers, resilient as they are!”

Since forming the band has written their own songs, experimenting with soundscapes and ambiguous lyrics to create something unique whilst using traditional instruments.

They concentrated on writing enough songs for a set and got gigging as soon as possible.

The response was fantastic and they went on to record their first EP ‘Police Me’.

Last month they launched their second EP which was the culmination of four months of writing.

They have been delighted with the response their work has had on a growing band of fans who have travelled to their gigs in Glasgow, Edinburgh, Dundee and Aberdeen.

The SAMAs are a platform for music discovery in Scotland and cover all categories of music, from rock to hip hop.

2015 will be its 6th year and some previous winners include the likes of Fatherson, Hector Bizerk, We Were Promised Jetpacks and more.

There will be a unique public vote (limited to one per IP address) for 10 days, starting September 21. Winners will be announced at the main event on Thursday, October 8 at The Garage.