Award winners receive trophies after another successful season

ANGUS Riding for the Disabled ended another successful season at their South Bottymyre centre awards ceremony on Saturday.

The group caters for almost 50 riders, aged from three to adult, with the 2011 Rider of the Year award going to a youngster who has undergone a momentous year.

Montrose cerebral palsy sufferer Riley Murray travelled to Missouri for SDA (selective dorsal rhizotomy), a spinal operation to help him regain movement in his lower limbs.

Riley is making excellent progress since his return from the US and his proud parents Dale and Trudy were at Bottymre to see their son receive his award.

Music was provided by Sandy Ingram, whose daughter Emily rides as the centre.

He performed the debut of Waltz for Joanne, a composition written in honour of trainer Joanne Gerrard.

The trophy winners were as follows:-

Junior - Andie-Mae Nowell; runner-up Ewan Brown. Senior - Hannah Pitkin; runner-up Stewart Jamieson. Bess Memorial - Eddiesa Lyon. Ogston Memorial - Gregor McIntosh. Anne Curtis Shield for horsecare/knowledge - Beth Greig. Kay Wilkie Shield for attendance - Emily Lindley.

Elinor’s effort prizes - Nathan Boyle, Marcus Byars, Caelon Watson and Niamh Horton.

Helper of the Year - Lynne Mustard. Rider of the Year - Riley Murray. Jockey Jan trophy for highest dressage score - Ciara Roulston.

Handy pony trophy highest score - Melissa Niven. Rita Guthrie Memorial for highest overall points - 1, Melissa Niven; 2, Ciara Roulston; 3, Olwyn Day; 4, Kathleen Stewart; 5, Ewan Brown; 6, Gregor McIntosh.